The 2011 Richard D. Jenks Memorial Prize was awarded to

      The Maple Project at the University of Waterloo

Congratulations to all who have been significantly involved in the Maple Project.
2011 Call for Nominations for the

      Richard D. Jenks Memorial Prize
      for Excellence in Computer Algebra Software Engineering

The 4th Richard D. Jenks Memorial Prize for Excellence in Software Engineering for Computer Algebra will be awarded at SNC/ISSAC 2011. The Prize will consist of a plaque and a cash award of $1,000.

Nominations, including self nominations, for this Prize are hereby solicited. Each nomination should be accompanied by a carefully completed nomination form: Candidates (or their nominators) should arrange to have two to five confidential letters of recommendation submitted by persons who are familiar with the nominee's software engineering achievements in computer algebra. The letters are an especially important part of the nomination packet.

Software engineering will be interpreted broadly, but it should be an important component in the work of any nominee. The nominee can be an individual or a team, when the latter is appropriate. Any questions about the suitability of a given body of work for the Prize should be directed to a Member of the 2011 Jenks Prize Committee listed below.

All nominations must be received by Friday April 15, 2011, 23:59pm EDT (+4 GMT)

The Prize winner will be selected by the 2011 Jenks Prize Committee:

      Xiao-Shan Gao
      Mark Giesbrecht (recused) (for ACM/SIGSAM)
      Erich L. Kaltofen (Chair)
      Lakshman Y. N.
      Robert S. Sutor

All nominations and supporting papers should be sent by email to and to