The 2013 Richard D. Jenks Memorial Prize was awarded to

      Professor William Arthur Stein of the Sage Project at the University of Washington.

Congratulations to William.
2013 Call for Nominations for the

      Richard D. Jenks Memorial Prize
      for Excellence in Computer Algebra Software Engineering

The 5th Richard D. Jenks Memorial Prize for Excellence in Software Engineering for Computer Algebra will be awarded on June 28 at ISSAC 2013 in Boston, Massachusetts, USA. The Prize will consist of a plaque and a cash award of $1,000.

Nominations, including self nominations, for this Prize are hereby solicited. Each nomination should be accompanied by a carefully completed nomination form: Candidates (or their nominators) should arrange to have two to five confidential letters of recommendation submitted by persons who are familiar with the nominee's software engineering achievements in computer algebra. The letters are an especially important part of the nomination packet.

Software engineering will be interpreted broadly, but it should be an important component in the work of any nominee. The nominee can be an individual or a team, when the latter is appropriate. Any questions about the suitability of a given body of work for the Prize should be directed to a Member of the 2013 Jenks Prize Committee listed below.

All nominations must be received by Friday April 19, 2013, 23:59pm EDT (+4 GMT)

The Prize winner will be selected by the 2013 Jenks Prize Committee:

      Xiao-Shan Gao
      Mark Giesbrecht (for ACM/SIGSAM)
      Gert-Martin Greuel
      Erich L. Kaltofen (Chair)
      Robert S. Sutor

All nominations and supporting papers should be sent by email to and to