The 2015 Richard D. Jenks Memorial Prize was awarded on October 30, 2015 at the Fields Institute in Toronto during the Major Thematic Program on Computer Algebra to

      Professor Victor Shoup for NTL: A Library for doing Number Theory

Congratulations to Victor.

Photo of Jenks Prize Award Ceremony
From left to right: Erich Kaltofen (Jenks Prize Committee Chair), Victor Shoup, Keith Geddes (Jenks Prize Co-Winner 2011), Ilias Kotsireas (SIGSAM Chair and Jenks Prize Committee Member), Mark Giesbrecht (Jenks Prize Committee Member).
2015 Call for Nominations for the

      Richard D. Jenks Memorial Prize
      for Excellence in Computer Algebra Software Engineering

The 6th Richard D. Jenks Memorial Prize for Excellence in Software Engineering for Computer Algebra will be awarded at the Fields Institute's Program in Computer Algebra in Toronto, Canada in October 2015. The Prize will consist of a plaque and a cash award of $1,000.

Nominations, including self nominations, for this Prize are hereby solicited. Each nomination should be accompanied by a carefully completed nomination form: Candidates (or their nominators) should arrange to have two to five confidential letters of recommendation submitted by persons who are familiar with the nominee's software engineering achievements in computer algebra. The letters are an especially important part of the nomination packet.

Software engineering will be interpreted broadly, but it should be an important component in the work of any nominee. The nominee can be an individual or a team, when the latter is appropriate. Any questions about the suitability of a given body of work for the Prize should be directed to a Member of the 2015 Jenks Prize Committee listed below.

All nominations must be received by Friday September 4, 2015, 23:59pm EDT (+4 GMT) [note: extended deadline]

The Prize winner will be selected by the 2015 Jenks Prize Committee:

      Xiao-Shan Gao
      Mark Giesbrecht
      Gert-Martin Greuel
      Erich L. Kaltofen (Chair)
      Ilias Kotsireas (for SIGSAM, ex officio)
      Robert S. Sutor

All nominations and supporting papers should be sent by email to and to